Rhett Miller with Black Prairie - The Traveler CD
Roll Over Image to Zoom
Email a Friend

Rhett Miller with Black Prairie - The Traveler CD

5 (2)   Write a Review
  • Add to Cart
"In late January of 2014, I entered Portland, Oregon's legendary Jackpot Studios accompanied by my friends in the band Black Prairie. John, Jon, Jenny, Nate, Chris, Annalisa and I tracked quickly. Almost everything you hear on The Traveler was recorded live on the floor of Jackpot during that beautiful week. The great Peter Buck and Scott McCaughey came in later and helped out with a few overdubs and that was pretty much it.
My favorite thing about music is the friendship it engenders. And the best way to make music is to get some friends together in a room and roll tape. That's how The Traveler came to be. I'm so grateful to Black Prairie for all the fun we had making The Traveler.

Thanks for listening. Please enjoy.”
-Rhett Miller

 Item #: ATCD155
Track List

1. Wanderlust
2. Jules
3. Most in the Summertime
4. My Little Disaster
5. Fair Enough
6. Kiss Me On The Fire Escape
7. Lucky Star
8. Escape Velocity
9. Dreams vs. Waking Life
10. Wicked things
11. Good Night
12. Reasons to Live

Average Customer Rating  (2) | Read All | Write a Review
Heidi Sensenig (8/29/2015)
I pre-ordered the CD, then got the vinyl as a gift. The Traveler is a great album, perfect for listening straight through. I am a huge fan of Rhett Miller's songwriting, and the collaboration with Black Prarie created such a sweet slant to these tunes. Love it, thanks!
Leslie S (8/27/2015)
This is my favorite Rhett Miller record so far. It's a break from his decidedly polished pop rock sound and more of an exploration into some folksier sounds. It's still pop, but the collaboration with Black Prairie was a brilliant move. It's a wonderful addition of layers and atmospheric sound. My favorite tracks are Wanderlust--a soundtrack for the summer, Fair Enough, and Lucky Star. Jules is also an achingly beautiful song. I participated in the pre-order, and it arrived in plenty of time before the album release date, thank you.