The Whigs - Give 'em All A Big Fat Lip
Roll Over Image to Zoom
Email a Friend

The Whigs - Give 'em All A Big Fat Lip

  • Add to Cart

Like the nineteenth-century political party that inspired their name, the Whigs are an anachronism. The baby-faced trio from Athens, Georgia, is currently riding high from heaps of buzz earned not by a wacky YouTube video or ripping off Joy Division but by two years of old-fashioned relentless gigging. Its debut album (cut more than a year ago while the group members were still students at the University of Georgia) evokes the neo-roots-rock vibe of My Morning Jacket, the cool minimalism of the Strokes and the perfectly constructed pop of the early Sixties. "Can't Hear You Coming" features a four-piece horn section, nonsensical lyrics and enough punk-rock energy to tear through the song in barely two minutes. The creepy album closer, "All My Banks," slithers over seven minutes with the help of a marauding circus organ and a lone trombone. This is one Whig party that's built to last.
1. Nothing Is Easy
2. Can't Hear You Coming
3. Technology
4. Written Invitation
5. Don't Talk Anymore
6. Violet Furs
7. Half the World Away
8. O.K, Alright
9. Say Hello
10. Give 'em All A Big Fat Lip
11. All My Banks
 Item #: ATCD37
Be the first to review this product. Post Review.